Changing the Change Table Relationship

With two children under 2, I would say, on average, I change between 8 and 10 nappies a day.  As well as the nappies, I do a minimum of 4 costume changes and I really do mean minimum. With a vomitty baby, in reality it’s more like 6 costume changes a day. A wet only nappy change might take me 5 mins to complete, a soiled change would be more like 10 mins and a costume change can take anywhere up to 15/20 mins (this is highly dependent on the time of day, the mood of the child, the type of clothes and the weather in 2 months time etc haha). So by my calculations, I spend a minimum of one and a half hours standing in front of a change table every day.

This is a considerable amount of time by anyone’s standard, but if every minute of those 1.5 hours is spent fighting with a child who just won’t lie down, tries to reach in with his hands or does a triple back somersault with full pike when you lift up his bottom, then its no wonder that the thought of these care giving tasks make most parents feel as though they need to approach the change table fully armed with their weapons of choice to make it through the ordeal unscathed.

My weapons previously consisted of distractions such as toys, books, phones or anything else that could hold my children’s attention for the time that it took to get the job done. Upon reading about the RIE style of parenting through Janet Lansbury’s blog and deciding that distractions were not going to work towards increasing my children’s attention span in the long run, I decided to use the time spent at the change table as valuable time in which I can get to know my children better.

At first, this was a difficult challenge. The children were used to being provided with something to amuse them and in the absence of any such tactile entertainment, they found their own way to bide the time which usually consisted of one of the aforementioned manoeuvres. I began by talking my children through the changing process. For example, if Penny (1) had a dirty nappy, I would firstly wait for a break in her play, or until after she’d finished her meal etc. I would then say something like, “I can see you’ve done a poo, would you like me to change that for you.” I would then hold out my arms and wait for her to give me a signal that she was ready to be picked up. I would then carry her to the change table, lie her down and talk to her about every step in the change process. “Now I’m going to take off your nappy, now I’m going to hold your legs up so I can wipe your bottom etc”

I tried this strategy with minimal success for quite some time. Changes continued to be a battle and I was starting to question the validity and sensibility of expecting a baby to cooperate at this time when all she wanted to do was play. It wasn’t until I watched this video depicting how to fully be present with your child and involve them in the nappy changing process even from infancy, that I realised I had missed a couple of crucial steps in the RIE nappy changing strategy. You see, I was still treating it as a job that needed to get done so that the children could get back to playing and I could get back to parenting. I had failed to recognise the enormous potential for bonding and communication that could happen at the change table. For those short snippets in the day, I needed to devote myself fully to my child, talk to her, play with her, listen to her and become more in tune with who she is and her capabilities.

Whilst a big part of building this relationship is talking them through the changing process, an even more important part I needed to include was pausing after each step to allow them time to process what I had said and more importantly, to give them a chance to respond. By not pausing, I was not having a two-way relationship, I was simply telling them what I was going to do and then doing it.

I have now slowed the process right down and now feel like it is our special time; a time spent building trust and confidence in each other. My one year old now rarely fights with me and I constantly marvel at how much she is suddenly able to help me. Now when I get to the change table with her, I tell her I am going to lie her down and then wait… She will suddenly launch out of my arms towards the change table, keen to get down there and get started. We then play gently together, blowing raspberries and enjoying each other’s company before we start. I ask her to lift her legs and then pause to give her a chance to respond. Inevitably, I detect a subtle movement in her legs indicating she is ready to have them lifted. The biggest change I have noted recently comes at the end when I put her pants back on. Instead of doing the left-leg-in-left-leg-out-hokey-pokey-dance we previously did, Penny now obviously bends and straightens the leg I have indicated trying to push it into the hole of her pants and then repeats with the other leg. It really is quite astounding and I am so pleased I persevered with using this strategy.

I now look forward to my time spent with each of my children at their change tables and consider it one of the most fulfilling parts of the day.

Chaning the Change Table Relationship~ Peaceful Parents, Confident Kids

Penny exploring all levels of her change table after having her nappy changed.

About Peaceful Parents, Confident Kids

Hi, my name is Kate. I have been a Physical Education/ Maths teacher for 12 years and am currently taking some time out to be a Mum. I have two beautiful girls aged 2 and 1 (13 month age gap). I have learned that there is so much more to parenting than 'going with your instincts' and treasure all the rewards my children present to me everyday. I have a passion for sports and have recently discovered an addiction to sewing. Thank you for taking some time out to read my ramblings :)
This entry was posted in Parenting Peacefully and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.